The Scottish Premier League

Posted by ei2Aevai on December 20th, 2020

The Scottish Premier League is also known as the Clydesdale Bank Premier League because it is Clydesdale Bank that sponsors the league. It is also sometimes known as just 'The Premier League' or SPL. It is a professional competitive league for top level football clubs in Scotland. It's over the Scottish Football League. The Scottish Premier League is currently ranked tenth in the UEFA rankings of European leagues - this is based on performances by member clubs in European competitions.

Since it was conceived in 1998, a total of seventeen football clubs have competed in the Scottish Premier League, but only two of them have won the championship, these are Celtic - six times and Rangers - four times.

The Scottish league system is made up of four leagues, the Scottish Premier League, First Division, Second Division and Third Division. The creation of the Scottish Premier League came after an earlier example in England where they had set up a similar Premier League and the decision to follow suit was driven by a desire among the top clubs to retain more of the revenue from the game. Before the creation of the Scottish Premier League, the sponsorship money was distributed proportionally between clubs in all divisions of league football, once the Premier League was formed, this was no longer the case and they now receive a larger share of the revenue, partly due to better television broadcast offer. อัพเดทพรีเมียร์ลีก

There are twelve teams in the Scottish Premier League and they play in a 'shared league format' throughout the season. What this means is that each team plays every other team 3 times - either two home games and one away game or a home game and two away games, bringing it to a total of thirty three games per game. Team. The division is then split with the top six teams, and the bottom six teams continue to play another five games against other teams in their half of the league, bringing the total games played by each team to 38 games. What this means is that because the top team matches are often harder to win, the seventh team in the league (the team at the top of the second half of the league) often has more points than the teams that place fifth and sixth because of their last five games is easier.

Points are scored throughout the season on the basis of win / draw / loss, where three points are awarded for a win, one point for a draw and no points for a lost game. It is these points that determine the position in the league for the first part of the season and then within each half for the second part of the season. The team at the top of the league table at the end of the season wins the championship. The team at the bottom of the table is relegated to the Scottish First Division and the top team from the Scottish First Division is promoted to the Premier League in their place. Occasionally, the team at the top of the Scottish First Division does not meet the criteria for their stadium, in which case there will be no relegation or promotion that year.

Like it? Share it!


About the Author

Joined: May 8th, 2020
Articles Posted: 362

More by this author