Army Challenge Coins Are a Mark of Pride and Honor

Posted by arun on December 12th, 2014

Challenge coins are known to be a mark of pride and honor. Owning one of them is a matter of great prestige. A challenge coin is usually a small coin or medallion that bears the emblem or insignia of an organization. This is carried by the members of the organization. These coins are traditionally provided to the members to prove their membership when they are challenged and also to increase their morale. These coins are also collected by the members of an organization. Challenge coins are usually used in the military. Army challenge coins are owned by people who have served in the army.

The Army challenge coins are offered to army men by the unit commanders as a gesture of recognition of some special achievement achieved by a member of the unit. It can also be exchanged to recognize the visits to any organization. Each country has its own style and type of challenge coins. They have all kinds of coins like army coins, air force coins, navy coins, and also different coins for the various departments like the National Guard, coast guard, marine, and so on.

The Navy challenge coins can be of a variety of sizes and shapes. A challenge coin lets you know where a person works, and also about his role and designation. The coins may be made of gold, silver, bronze, platinum, or an alloy of the different metals. Though they can be of different shapes, they are usually rounded, oval, or triangular. The name of the organization is found on every coin. In addition, some coins also contain the logo of the organization or a slogan. The purpose of every coin is different. Depending on the cause, they may have distinct shapes and material. They are always offered for a reason, and that is depicted by the features of the coin. Some coins contain the date and the name of the unit. If it represents any kind of outstanding performance for a task or an achievement, that may also be mentioned on the coin.

The Navy challenge coins let you know the rank of the officer owning. They are offered to the cadets after the training period is over. Challenge coins are also called other names like unit coins, honor coins, and collector coins. Many people collect the coins as a hobby and believe in passing them to future generations. Every coin is special and must be given due respect. The coins must never be treated casually as any other coin. A look at any coin will let you feel the importance of the coins. Look out for a chance to hold one such coin in your hand to experience it.

Like it? Share it!


About the Author

Joined: May 14th, 2014
Articles Posted: 495

More by this author