IELTS test understanding the four sections to qualify the test

Posted by aecoverseas on January 29th, 2015

IELTS is described as “International English Language Testing System”. It is an international standard test for evaluating the proficiency  and knowledge of an individual in the English language. This test comprises four sections, including reading, writing, speaking and speaking. Most of the universities and colleges in Australia, Canada,  New Zealand, South Africa, Britain and Ireland make it mandatory for foreign  students to pass the IELTS  test in order to get admission. Qualifying this test is also important for immigration in countries like  New Zealand, Canada and Australia.

                                    overseas education cunsultants

IELTS is the world’s recognized English language test for overseas education and immigration. A  good knowledge of grammar and English vocabulary is not enough to perform better to score better in this test. You need to give focus on all the sections and make strategies for preparation in order  to qualify and score highly on the test. The important point to remember about IELTS is that you need to know the strategies and techniques for  performing well in the test.  Let’s read to get comprehensive information about the four sections of the IELTS test.

Listening - 30 minutes + 10 minutes to transfer answers


The listening in itself contains four sections based on conversational dialogues between two to four applicants and lecture style semi-academic monologues.  This section contains 40 questions based on completing text, matching, multiple choice and diagrams.

The listening has four sections based on conversational dialogues between 2 to 4 people and lecture style semi-academic monologues. There are 40 questions and the question types include the following: completing text or diagrams, choosing from a list such as multiple choice and matching or classifying. 

Reading - 1 hour


The reading section is usually the most difficult section among all.  This  paper usually contains three  articles of approximately 700 to 800 words to read. As like listening section, it also contains 40 questions based on visual information, completion of text,  matching and selecting  from lists.

The reading is generally thought to be the most difficult of the 4 papers because there is a lot to read - 3 articles of approximately 700 - 800 words each. Like the listening, there are 40 questions covering the same types; completion text and visual information, selecting from lists and matching or classifying.

Writing - 1 hour


 The writing section is subdivided into two sections. In the first section, you must some visual or graph  in minimum 150 words. In the second section,   you need to write an essay explaining your idea on the given topic in 250 words. The second section contains higher marks. SO, you need to write an essay more logically.   

In the writing section, you will get marks on four areas, including task achievement, grammatical accuracy, coherence and cohesion and  the way you attempt the question.

Speaking - 11 - 14 minutes


The speaking section is subdivided  into three sections.  The first section is the general  conversation between the candidate and  examiner. The second  section contains a topic on which you have to speak for more than 1 or 2 minutes  and the third section is the discussion about the topic.

Article Source:-

The Author is an education counsellor having keen interest in writing. Currently, she is writing on topics like, Study overseas, post graduate diploma new Zealand, diploma courses in Singapore and Foreign Education. For more detail visit:

Like it? Share it!


About the Author

Joined: August 6th, 2014
Articles Posted: 25

More by this author