All In The Family (Season 3) DVD Review

Posted by Nick Niesen on October 27th, 2010

One of the more celebrated situation comedies of all-time, All In The Family dominated the Nielsen ratings throughout much of the 1970s. Carroll O'Connor plays the title role of Archie Bunker, the politically-incorrect head of the Bunker household. Loud and opinionated, Archie liberally dispenses his often bigoted remarks and ignorant comments from a recliner in his Queens, New York living room. Living with Archie are his loving, yet airheaded wife Edith (Jean Stapelton), progressive daughter Gloria (Sally Struthers), and ultra-liberal son-in-law Mike (Rob Reiner) who Archie regularly calls "Meathead". As Archie's ingrained assumptions clash with Gloria and Mike's modern ideas, arguments break out everywhere in the Bunker household, but the inevitably the various family members come to love and respect each other for who they are?

The All In The Family (Season 3) DVD features a number of hilarious episodes including the season premiere "Archie and the Editorial" in which Archie ardently defends his anti-gun control views on a TV editorial show, only to be held up by a pair of muggers wielding a gun when he leaves the station. The incident causes Archie to transform into a gun control advocate? Other notable episodes from Season 3 include "Lionel Steps Out" in which Lionel Jefferson takes Archie's niece out on the town (peeving Archie who believes whites and blacks don't mix), and "Mike's Appendix" in which Archie and Gloria fight over the credentials of female doctors when Mike is forced to have an emergency appendectomy?

Below is a list of episodes included on the All In The Family (Season 3) DVD:

Episode 38 (Archie and the Editorial) Air Date: 09-16-1972
Episode 39 (Archie's Fraud) Air Date: 09-23-1972
Episode 40 (The Threat) Air Date: 09-30-1972
Episode 41 (Gloria and the Riddle) Air Date: 10-07-1972
Episode 42 (Lionel Steps Out) Air Date: 10-14-1972
Episode 43 (Edith Flips Her Whig) Air Date: 10-21-1972
Episode 44 (The Bunkers and the Swingers) Air Date: 10-28-1972
Episode 45 (Mike Comes Into Money) Air Date: 11-04-1972
Episode 46 (Flashback: Mike and Gloria's Wedding: Part 1) Air Date: 11-11-1972
Episode 47 (Flashback: Mike and Gloria's Wedding: Part 2) Air Date: 11-18-1972
Episode 48 (The Locket) Air Date: 11-23-1972
Episode 49 (Mike's Appendix) Air Date: 12-02-1972
Episode 50 (Edith's Winning Ticket) Air Date: 12-09-1972
Episode 51 (Archie and the Bowling Team) Air Date: 12-16-1972
Episode 52 (Archie in the Hospital) Air Date: 01-06-1973
Episode 53 (Oh Say Can You See) Air Date: 01-20-1973
Episode 54 (Archie Goes Too Far) Air Date: 01-27-1973
Episode 55 (Class Reunion) Air Date: 02-10-1973
Episode 56 (Hot Watch) Air Date: 02-17-1973
Episode 57 (Archie is Branded) Air Date: 02-24-1973
Episode 58 (Everybody Tells the Truth) Air Date: 03-03-1973
Episode 59 (Archie Learns His Lesson) Air Date: 03-10-1973
Episode 60 (Gloria, the Victim) Air Date: 03-17-1973
Episode 61 (The Battle of the Month) Air Date: 03-24-1973

Like it? Share it!

Nick Niesen

About the Author

Nick Niesen
Joined: April 29th, 2015
Articles Posted: 33,847

More by this author