Star Trek (Season 2) DVD Review

Posted by Nick Niesen on October 27th, 2010

Recipient of four Emmy nominations, including Outstanding Dramatic Series on two occasions in its short three-year run, Star Trek is a science-fiction legend among television viewers. The creation of former Los Angeles police officer Gene Roddenberry, the series first aired in Fall 1966 but was cancelled because of low ratings. It might have been NBC executives who were really responsible for the low ratings seeing as how they placed the show in a horrible time slot. Nevertheless, when Star Trek became syndicated, the reruns took hold of an entirely new generation, shooting the Star Trek franchise to new highs. It would be only the beginning of decades of spin-off products, including comics, novels, six feature films, and tons of merchandise as fans clamored for everything Star Trek-related?

The Star Trek (Season 2) DVD features a number of action-packed episodes including the season premiere ?Amok Time? in which Spock begins to exhibit strange and irrational characteristics. Concerned, Kirk orders a full medical examination and learns that Spock is experiencing the instinctual mating patterns of a Vulcan and must return to his home planet immediately in order to avoid death. When they arrive, Spock?s chosen mate challenges the pairing, prompting a duel between Spock and the man of her choosing. Kirk is chosen, and he and Spock are forced to fight to the death? Other notable episodes from Season 2 include ?Metamorphosis? in which the Enterprise encounters a mysterious force known as The Companion which is in love with a human, and ?Patterns of Force? in which the crew of the Enterprise visits a planet resembling the society of 20th Century Nazi Germany?

Below is a list of episodes included on the Star Trek (Season 2) DVD:

Episode 30 (Amok Time) Air Date: 09-15-1967
Episode 31 (Who Mourns for Adonais?) Air Date: 09-22-1967
Episode 32 (The Changeling) Air Date: 09-29-1967
Episode 33 (Mirror, Mirror) Air Date: 10-06-1967
Episode 34 (The Apple) Air Date: 10-13-1967
Episode 35 (The Doomsday Machine) Air Date: 10-20-1967
Episode 36 (Catspaw) Air Date: 10-27-1967
Episode 37 (I, Mudd) Air Date: 11-03-1967
Episode 38 (Metamorphosis) Air Date: 11-10-1967
Episode 39 (Journey to Babel) Air Date: 11-17-1967
Episode 40 (Friday?s Child) Air Date: 12-01-1967
Episode 41 (The Deadly Years) Air Date: 12-08-1967
Episode 42 (Obsession) Air Date: 12-15-1967
Episode 43 (Wolf in the Fold) Air Date: 12-22-1967
Episode 44 (The Trouble with Tribbles) Air Date: 12-29-1967
Episode 45 (The Gamesters of Triskelion) Air Date: 01-05-1968
Episode 46 (A Piece of the Action) Air Date: 01-12-1968
Episode 47 (The Immunity Syndrome) Air Date: 01-19-1968
Episode 48 (A Private Little War) Air Date: 02-02-1968
Episode 49 (Return to Tomorrow) Air Date: 02-09-1968
Episode 50 (Patterns of Force) Air Date: 02-16-1968
Episode 51 (By Any Other Name) Air Date: 02-23-1968
Episode 52 (The Omega Glory) Air Date: 03-01-1968
Episode 53 (The Ultimate Computer) Air Date: 03-08-1968
Episode 54 (Bread and Circuses) Air Date: 03-15-1968
Episode 55 (Assignment: Earth) Air Date: 03-29-1968

Like it? Share it!

Nick Niesen

About the Author

Nick Niesen
Joined: April 29th, 2015
Articles Posted: 33,847

More by this author