Dawson's Creek (Season 3) DVD Review

Posted by Nick Niesen on October 27th, 2010

Recipient of 12 Teen Choice Awards in its successful six-year network run, Dawson's Creek established a loyal cult following due to its knack for developing intelligent and probing plotlines, interesting dialogue, and subject matter relevant to the critical issues of the day. The show follows the world of several high school students as they grapple with the toughest years of growing up. Title character Dawson Leery (James Van Der Beek) is a thoughtful and comtemplative idealist whose next door neighbor Josephine "Joey" Potter (Katie Holmes) is his lifelong best friend. A tomboy still unaware of her true beauty, Joey and Dawson have a number of friends including Pacey Witter (Joshua Jackson), Jennifer "Jen" Lindley (Michelle Williams), Andrea "Andie" McPhee (Meredith Monroe), and Jack McPhee (Kerr Smith). As a whole, the high school friends form the foundation of a teenage primetime drama with all the attributes reminiscent of Dallas or Dynasty. It's a recipe for certain success?

The Dawson's Creek (Season 3) DVD features a number of dramatic episodes including the season premiere "Like a Virgin" in which Dawson returns home following a protracted summer spent with his mother in Philadelphia. Meanwhile, Joey realizes she's still upset with Dawson over their unexpected breakup when she sees him once again, and Pacey tries to overcome his loneliness following a summer without Andie? Other notable episodes from Season 3 include "Guess Who's Coming to Dinner?" in which Jen's mom unexpectedly arrives for Thanksgiving dinner, prompting Dawson to try to reconcile their family, and "Crime and Punishment" in which Joey paints a school mural that ends up being defaced while Jen comes clean about her extra edge when she scores among the best in the nation on the PSAT?

Below is a list of episodes included on the Dawson's Creek (Season 3) DVD:

Episode 36 (Like a Virgin) Air Date: 09-29-1999
Episode 37 (Homecoming) Air Date: 10-06-1999
Episode 38 (None of the Above) Air Date: 10-13-1999
Episode 39 (Home Movies) Air Date: 10-20-1999
Episode 40 (Indian Summer) Air Date: 10-27-1999
Episode 41 (Secrets and Lies) Air Date: 11-10-1999
Episode 42 (Escape From Witch Island) Air Date: 11-17-1999
Episode 43 (Guess Who's Coming to Dinner?) Air Date: 11-24-1999
Episode 44 (Four to Tango) Air Date: 12-01-1999
Episode 45 (First Encounters of the Close Kind) Air Date: 12-15-1999
Episode 46 (Barefoot at the Capefest) Air Date: 01-12-2000
Episode 47 (A Weekend in the Country) Air Date: 01-19-2000
Episode 48 (Northern Lights) Air Date: 01-26-2000
Episode 49 (Valentine's Day Massacre) Air Date: 02-02-2000
Episode 50 (Crime and Punishment) Air Date: 02-09-2000
Episode 51 (To Green, With Love) Air Date: 02-16-2000
Episode 52 (Cinderella Story) Air Date: 03-01-2000
Episode 53 (Neverland) Air Date: 03-05-2000
Episode 54 (Stolen Kisses) Air Date: 04-26-2000
Episode 55 (The Longest Day) Air Date: 05-03-2000
Episode 56 (Show Me Love) Air Date: 05-10-2000
Episode 57 (The Anti-Prom) Air Date: 05-17-2000
Episode 58 (True Love) Air Date: 05-24-2000

Like it? Share it!

Nick Niesen

About the Author

Nick Niesen
Joined: April 29th, 2015
Articles Posted: 33,847

More by this author