Macgyver (Season 3) DVD Review

Posted by Nick Niesen on October 27th, 2010

One of the best shows of the 1980s, MacGyver has a dedicated fan base even to this day. Richard Dean Anderson plays the role of MacGyver, a cerebral and charismatic agent of the Phoenix Foundation for Research. A different hero even by the standards of today?s TV series, MacGyver had an exaggerated fear of heights. He was also a pacifist who never relied on weapons, but instead on the ability to deploy his brain and think his way out of dangerous situations. MacGyver?s boss and best buddy was Pete Thornton (Dana Elcar). Pete regularly sends MacGyver on missions and oftentimes comes to his rescue (mostly in the moments after MacGyver has saved himself and someone else). MacGyver is also often accompanied by his airplane pilot friend Jack Dalton (Bruce McGill) who constantly gets himself and MacGyver into compromised predicaments with his illegal activities and hair-brained schemes. Along with the usual bad guys, archenemy Murdoc (Michael Des Barres) is MacGyver?s constant nightmare. With something interesting always in the works, there isn?t a boring episode of this fascinating series?

The MacGyver (Season 3) DVD features a number of action-packed episodes including the season premiere ?Lost Love? in which a woman from MacGyver?s past (a woman he once loved) returns to his life. She also happens to be a known Soviet dissident who begs for his help in aiding her escape from the evil regime. But before MacGyver can help, the KGB kidnaps her and demands a priceless artifact as her ransom, leaving MacGyver as the only man who can save her? Other notable episodes from Season 3 include ?The Widowmaker? in which MacGyver mourns the death of his friend at the hands of a former enemy, and ?Mask of the Wolf? in which Jack and MacGyver aid in the search for an ancient Indian wolf mask while two mercenaries follow their trail?

Below is a list of episodes included on the MacGyver (Season 3) DVD:

Episode 45 (Lost Love: Part 1) Air Date: 09-21-1987
Episode 46 (Lost Love: Part 2) Air Date: 09-28-1987
Episode 47 (Back from the Dead) Air Date: 10-05-1987
Episode 48 (Ghost Ship) Air Date: 10-19-1987
Episode 49 (Fire and Ice) Air Date: 10-26-1987
Episode 50 (GX-1) Air Date: 11-02-1987
Episode 51 (Jack in the Box) Air Date: 11-09-1987
Episode 52 (The Widowmaker) Air Date: 11-16-1987
Episode 53 (Hell Week) Air Date: 11-23-1987
Episode 54 (Blow Out) Air Date: 12-21-1987
Episode 55 (Kill Zone) Air Date: 01-04-1988
Episode 56 (Early Retirement) Air Date: 01-18-1988
Episode 57 (Thin Ice) Air Date: 02-01-1988
Episode 58 (The Odd Triple) Air Date: 02-29-1988
Episode 59 (The Negotiator) Air Date: 03-07-1988
Episode 60 (The Spoilers) Air Date: 03-14-1988
Episode 61 (Mask of the Wolf) Air Date: 03-28-1988
Episode 62 (Rock the Cradle) Air Date: 04-18-1988
Episode 63 (The Endangered) Air Date: 05-02-1988
Episode 64 (Murderer?s Sky) Air Date: 05-09-1988

Like it? Share it!

Nick Niesen

About the Author

Nick Niesen
Joined: April 29th, 2015
Articles Posted: 33,847

More by this author