Everybody Loves Raymond (DVD) Review

Posted by Nick Niesen on October 27th, 2010

First telecast in the Fall of 1996, Everybody Loves Raymond became an instant favorite among TV audiences, a love affair that would last for nine memorable seasons. Following on the heels of a series of successful sitcoms starring stand-up comics - Seinfeld, Home Improvement, The Drew Carey Show, etc., Everybody Loves Raymond drew upon the comedic talents of Ray Romano who plays the role of the title character Ray Barone?

A successful Long Island-based sportswriter, Ray and his wife Debra (Patricia Heaton) enjoy a happy marriage and the company of their three children - daughter Ally (Madylin Sweeten) and twin sons Geoffrey (Sawyer Sweeten) and Michael (Sullivan Sweeten). But they also happen to live directly across the street from Ray's parents, Frank (Peter Boyle) and Marie (Doris Roberts), who take it upon themselves to enter their son and daughter-in-law's house whenever they wish (without knocking) and dispense advice and sometimes insults. Joining Frank and Marie is Ray's brother Robert (Brad Garrett), a divorced policeman, who periodically lives with Frank and Marie and is often jealous of Ray's idyllic life. Together, they create the perfect loving and dysfunctional family?

The Everybody Loves Raymond DVD features a number of hilarious episodes including the season premiere in which Debra and Ray, sick of Ray's parents and brother showing up uninvited, conspire to keep their nosy relatives out of the house? Other notable episodes include "Frank, The Writer" in which Ray's father attempts to become a newspaper columnist like his son, and "Turkey or Fish" in which Debra and Marie engage in an unofficial competition to see who can cook the best Thanksgiving dinner? The Season 1 DVD also includes guest appearances by sports icons Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Terry Bradshaw, Barry Bonds, Katarina Witt, Tommy Lasorda, Marv Albert, Kristi Yamaguchi, and Desmond Howard?

Below is a list of episodes included on the Everybody Loves Raymond (Season 1) DVD:

Episode 1 (Pilot) Air Date: 09-13-1996
Episode 2 (I Love You) Air Date: 09-20-1996
Episode 3 (I Wish I Were Gus) Air Date: 09-27-1996
Episode 4 (Standard Deviation) Air Date: 10-04-1996
Episode 5 (Look, Don't Touch) Air Date: 10-11-1996
Episode 6 (Frank, The Writer) Air Date: 10-18-1996
Episode 7 (Your Place Or Mine?) Air Date: 10-28-1996
Episode 8 (In-Laws) Air Date: 11-01-1996
Episode 9 (Win, Lose Or Draw) Air Date: 11-08-1996
Episode 10 (Turkey Or Fish) Air Date: 11-22-1996
Episode 11 (Captain Nemo) Air Date: 12-13-1996
Episode 12 (The Ball) Air Date: 12-20-1996
Episode 13 (Debra's Sick) Air Date: 01-03-1997
Episode 14 (Who's Handsome?) Air Date: 01-17-1997
Episode 15 (The Car) Air Date: 01-31-1997
Episode 16 (Diamonds) Air Date: 02-07-1997
Episode 17 (The Game) Air Date: 02-21-1997
Episode 18 (Recovering Pessimist) Air Date: 02-28-1997
Episode 19 (The Dog) Air Date: 03-03-1997
Episode 20 (Neighbors) Air Date: 03-10-1997
Episode 21 (Fascinatin' Debra) Air Date: 03-17-1997
Episode 22 (Why Are We Here?) Air Date: 04-07-1997

Like it? Share it!

Nick Niesen

About the Author

Nick Niesen
Joined: April 29th, 2015
Articles Posted: 33,847

More by this author