Star Trek: The Next Generation (DVD) Review

Posted by Nick Niesen on October 27th, 2010

Nominated for 58 Emmys, including one for Outstanding Drama Series, Star Trek: The Next Generation fulfilled all the potential and promise anticipated of a long-awaited successor to the original 1960s series - Star Trek. Created by a former L.A. police officer, Gene Roddenberry, the Star Trek TV series morphed into a franchise famous for the unprecedented fanatical devotion of its audience. Lasting only three seasons during its original network run, Star Trek struck gold with its syndicated reruns, launching a number of motion pictures featuring the original cast as well as novels, comic books, collectibles, and reams of Star Trek-related memorabilia. Star Trek: The Next Generation (1987) became the first TV series to follow on the heels of the original, and its success would spark the creation of three additional series - Star Trek: Deep Space Nine (1993), Star Trek: Voyager (1995), and Star Trek: Enterprise (2001). But The Next Generation remained the most popular spin-off. Despite new characters and new episodes, the mission remained the same as before - "to boldly go where no man has gone before?" And to continue the rich tradition of the Star Trek name - a mission Star Trek: The Next Generation accomplishes with relative ease?

Star Trek: The Next Generation takes place in the 24th Century, almost one-hundred years after Captain Kirk's crew set out to explore strange new worlds. Capt. Jean-Luc Picard (Patrick Stewart - I Claudius) commands the USS Enterprise-D and its diverse crew of humans, cyborgs, and varying life forms. Accompanying him on his voyage is an entirely new cast of passengers and crew including Commander William T. Riker (Jonathan Frakes - North & South), Lt. Commander Data (Brent Spiner), Lt. Commander Geordi La Forge (LeVar Burton), Lt. Tasha Yar (Denise Crosby), Lt. Worf (Michael Dorn), Dr. Beverly Crusher (Gates McFadden), and her son Ensign Wesley Crusher (Wil Wheaton)? Together, they struggle against numerous obstacles to carry out the mission of the USS Enterprise: "To explore strange new worlds? To seek out new life; new civilizations? To boldly go where no one has gone before!" This pioneering attitude, coupled with imaginative and brilliantly-produced alien worlds, provides Star Trek with its unique allure and special place within American pop culture - especially those episodes from the original series, widely regarded as the most popular of the Star Trek franchise?

The Star Trek: The Next Generation DVD features a number of exciting episodes including the series premiere "Encounter at Farpoint" in which the newly built USS Enterprise-D, commanded by Capt. Jean Luc Picard, is tasked with its first mission - to explore the area in and around Farpoint Station. But while carrying out their mission, the crew and passengers encounter a powerful life form known only as "Q". The being accuses the human race of high crimes against the galaxy, and he threatens to destroy all of humanity. Now, Capt. Picard and his crew must think fast, or else risk total annihilation? Other notable episodes from Season 1 include "The Battle" in which a mind-control device placed of a former ship of Capt. Picard forces him to re-live a battle from his past (with the USS Enterprise as the target!), and "Coming of Age" in which Wesley takes the Starfleet Academy entrance exam while Capt. Picard turns down a promotion in order to stay with the Enterprise?

Below is a list of episodes included on the Star Trek: The Next Generation (Season 1) DVD:

Episode 1 (Encounter at Farpoint: Part 1) Air Date: 09-28-1987
Episode 2 (Encounter at Farpoint: Part 2) Air Date: 09-28-1987
Episode 3 (The Naked Now) Air Date: 10-05-1987
Episode 4 (Code of Honor) Air Date: 10-12-1987
Episode 5 (The Last Outpost) Air Date: 10-19-1987
Episode 6 (Where No One Has Gone Before) Air Date: 10-26-1987
Episode 7 (Lonely Among Us) Air Date: 11-02-1987
Episode 8 (Justice) Air Date: 11-09-1987
Episode 9 (The Battle) Air Date: 11-16-1987
Episode 10 (Hide and Q) Air Date: 11-23-1987
Episode 11 (Haven) Air Date: 11-30-1987
Episode 12 (The Big Goodbye) Air Date: 01-11-1988
Episode 13 (Datalore) Air Date: 01-18-1988
Episode 14 (Angel One) Air Date: 01-25-1988
Episode 15 (11001001) Air Date: 02-01-1988
Episode 16 (Too Short a Season) Air Date: 02-08-1988
Episode 17 (When the Bough Breaks) Air Date: 02-15-1988
Episode 18 (Home Soil) Air Date: 02-22-1988
Episode 19 (Coming of Age) Air Date: 03-14-1988
Episode 20 (Heart of Glory) Air Date: 03-21-1988
Episode 21 (The Arsenal of Freedom) Air Date: 04-11-1988
Episode 22 (Symbiosis) Air Date: 04-18-1988
Episode 23 (Skin of Evil) Air Date: 04-25-1988
Episode 24 (We'll Always Have Paris) Air Date: 05-02-1988
Episode 25 (Conspiracy) Air Date: 05-09-1988
Episode 26 (The Neutral Zone) Air Date: 05-16-1988

Like it? Share it!

Nick Niesen

About the Author

Nick Niesen
Joined: April 29th, 2015
Articles Posted: 33,847

More by this author