What Is New Education Policy And 5+3+3+4 School Structure Explained

Posted by LEAD on October 31st, 2022

“The purpose of education is to make good human beings with skill and expertise. Enlightened human beings can be created by teachers." - Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam.

On 29 July 2020, the Ministry of Human Resource Development (MHRD), under the guidance and supervision of the Indian Prime Minister, introduced a New Education Policy (NEP) to replace the 34-year-old National Policy on Education (NPE).

The Department of Higher Education, MHRD states that New Education Policy 2020 aims to grow the Gross Enrolment Ratio (GER) in higher education, including vocational education, from 26.3% (2018) to 50% by 2035. As a result, 3.5 crore new seats will be added to post-secondary education institutions.

The change was done in India to improve the education system, creating a buzz among institutions. With a motive to provide high-quality education to all the students of India, National Education Policy 2020 is based on five traditional foundational pillars - Quality, Affordability, Equity, Access, and Accountability. In addition, qualitative and qualitative education will be provided to the kids under New Education Policy.

National Education Policy brings a drastic shift to the functioning of educational institutions by making learning integrated, holistic, and experiential. In addition, the New Education Policy introduces a new education structure called 5+3+3+4 that replaces the old 10+2 education structure. It also focuses on supporting the mother tongue and promoting different languages. This change has been done to help students understand the importance of their local and mother languages.

5+3+3+4 School Structure Explained

With the new 5+3+3+4 school education system, kids will spend five years in the Foundational stage, three years in the Preparatory stage, three years in the Middle stage, and four years in the Secondary phase. These stages are divided according to a student's cognitive growth in primary, secondary, and early childhood. Following is the age-wise breakdown of the various stages of the new education system:

5 Years Foundation Stage

  • From age 3 to 7 years.

  • Classes 1, 2, and 3.

Pre-school or Anganwadi, the basic level or class of learning, will consist of 3 years of pre-school or Anganwadi education, followed by two years of classes 1 and 2 (primary school). This stage will focus on play-school or activity-based teaching methods and language development.

3 Years Preparatory Stage

  • From age 8 to 11.

  • Classes 3rd to 5th.

The preparatory period will focus on multiple languages and abilities development. In addition, indoor-based learning, teaching, and outdoor activities will be used here as the aspect of discovery and classroom relations.

3 Years Middle Stage

  • From age 11 to 14.

  • Classes 6th to 8th.

The middle stage of school teaching will focus on essential learning objectives, which is a vital departure from the rote learning methods that have long been used in our education system. The focus of the middle stage will be on experiential learning in Arts, Social Sciences, Sciences, Humanities, and Mathematics.

4 Years Secondary Stage

  • From ages 14 to 18.

  • 9th, 10th, 11th, and 12th Classes.

For students between 14 to 18 years, the secondary stage is further divided into classes 9th and 10th, and 11th and 12th phases. Students will get the complete flexibility to select or decide between subjects like Art, Music, etc., according to their interests.

With the advent of the New Education Policy, students are experiencing stress-free, fun-filled, stress-free, and holistic learning as institutions are now implementing the 5+3+3+4 education system. Also, parents and teachers can pay full attention to students' education and skills to make them ready to sustain themselves in today's highly competitive world.

Like it? Share it!


About the Author

Joined: August 9th, 2022
Articles Posted: 10

More by this author