What types of Tawaf are there in Hajj?

Posted by Muminah Tannous on December 30th, 2022

We know that Hajj is an obligatory religious duty for Muslims from all over the world. It is an annual Islamic pilgrimage to the holy city of Mecca. This spiritual trip is a collection of many rituals performed by millions of Muslims. Tawaf is also the main part of these religious rites. Consider this article for more information, “What types of Tawaf are there in Hajj?”

In Islam, Tawaf refers to performing seven anti-clockwise rounds around the Holy Kaaba, starting and ending at Hajar Aswad. It is the second-most significant ritual of both Hajj and Umrah after Ihram.

Circumambulating the Kaaba is a devotional act meant to strengthen the pilgrim’s spiritual relationship with God. It is the only essential ritual of sacred pilgrimages that is not directly connected to the ancient acts of worship the Prophet Ibrahim (A.S.) performed.

Note:  Most people don’t know about tawaf and its types. So I suggest you first complete reading about the guidance of Hajj and Umrah then book your Hajj and Umrah Packages.

Types of Tawaf during the Hajj

In Islam, there are five different kinds of Tawaf, each with its own set of guidelines. During Hajj, pilgrims only perform three types of them. These are the following:

  1. Tawaf Qudoom

This is the first Tawaf in which people travelled to Mecca from outside the Miqat boundaries to perform Hajj Qiran or Hajj Ifrad. During this worship, Ihram is dressed, and Idtiba and Raml can be observed.

This ritual is an obligation for all pilgrims who come to complete Hajj Ifrad or Hajj Qiran before the Wuquf on the 9th of Dhul Hijjah.

  1. Tawaf Ifadah

All Hajj pilgrims perform this on the 10th of Dhul Hijjah after removing their Ihram and changing into regular attire and before moving back to Mina to complete Rami-al-Jamarat. Sexual relations are not allowed until this circumambulation is finished. It is also known as Tawaf Ziyarah (Tawaf of Visitation) because it is carried out after leaving Mina and before visiting the Kaaba.

  1. Tawaf Wida

This ritual is completed by Hajj pilgrims just before leaving Mecca after performing the pilgrimage. It is the last rite carried out in Mecca before departing for the next destination. Pilgrims can perform it in their regular clothes.

Apart from the Hajj, other types of Tawaf are as follows:

  • Tawaf Umrah

Except on Hajj days, pilgrims who are going to Mecca to perform Tawaf Umrah do so.

Muslims who live outside of Saudi Arabia frequently fulfil the Hajj and Umrah simultaneously by performing Hajj Tamattu.


  • Nafl Tawaf

It is commonly referred to as “voluntary Tawaf,” something that anyone is free to perform whenever they like. It is the customary act performed by a person when he makes a wish inside Masjid Haram.

Significance of Tawaf

This main ritual of the Hajj or Umrah is considered a deed that shows the greatest devotion and love for God. Many narrations highlight the importance of this best form of worship.

The idea behind its significance is that the pilgrims’ circumambulation of the House of Allah symbolizes the belief that everything revolves around Allah. To understand it, one can see how the Earth revolves around the Sun is dependent on it for survival. The same holds true for pilgrims, who depend on Allah for their survival and well-being because He is seen as being all-Powerful.

Muslims prostrate in the direction of the Kaaba during their five daily prayers. They refocus attention on the Kaaba’s importance in Islamic practice by performing Tawaf.     

Regulations for Tawaf

Circumambulation has numerous kinds, but the process is always the same. The steps for doing this great form of worship as said by the Holy Prophet (PBUH) are as follows:

  • Ablution is necessary for pilgrims to encircle the Kaaba.
  • Both men and women must cover their private parts to complete Tawaf.
  • Pilgrims must start and end circumambulating the Kaaba at the Black Stone.
  • Women are permitted to complete all the Hajj rites during their menstruation, however, they are not allowed to do Tawaf and Sa’i.
  • Encircling the Kaaba must be done in a total of seven rounds. It will be void if you miss even one round.
  • Pilgrims must be careful not to enter the Hateem area when they perform circumambulation because it is part of the Holy Kaaba. The round will not be counted as Tawaf if someone enters this area while he encircles the Kaaba.


Muslims from all over the world travel to Mecca for the annual Hajj pilgrimage. Everyone who is physically and financially capable of making the trip is required to do so. The circumambulation of the Kaaba is one of the various rites and activities carried out throughout the journey.

There are five different types of Tawaf in Islam, each with its own rules. But pilgrims undertake only three of them during the holy journey to Mecca. These kinds include Tawaf Qudoom, Tawaf Ziyarah, and Tawaf Wida.

Important Note:  Make sure the company with which you have booked your Umrah and Hajj package are protected by ATOL and IATA.

Like it? Share it!

Muminah Tannous

About the Author

Muminah Tannous
Joined: February 15th, 2020
Articles Posted: 46

More by this author