Selection Committee Chief reveals the reason for not including Kedar Jadhav in T

Posted by Atin Jain on October 30th, 2018

After the brilliant and record-breaking performance of Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli in first One Day International against West Indies out of the five-match ODI series at Guwahati, India took the lead by 1-0 as the match was won by India by 8 wickets.

The Second One Day International at Visakhapatnam ended in a thrilling tie. West Indies scored

321 runs at the loss of 7 wickets and India also scored 321 runs at the loss of 6 wickets. But the match was very special for Virat Kohli as he broke Master Blaster’s record.

For the Third One Day International scheduled at Pune, the BCCI announced India's 15-man squad for the remaining 3 ODIs against West Indies.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Jasprit Bumrah returned after being rested for the first 2 matches but the name of the key player in the middle order Kedar Jadhav was missing. Not only his name but Mohammed Shami’s name was also excluded from the team.

Mohammed Shami and Umesh Yadav both underperformed in the first two ODIs against the West Indies but although Umesh Yadav managed to retain his place.

The all-rounderKedar Jadhav expressed surprise and said he did not know why he was not been included in the team and would want to know the reason behind the decision. On that election committee chief, MSK Prasad had responded to the all-rounder.

MSK Prasad said that we did not pick Kedar because of his history of fitness. There have been occasions earlier when he has come back fit and then broke down, a case in point being the Asia Cup last month.

He told that they were thinking that if India A won today, then Kedar would have got another match, which would have given us a fair assessment of his match fitness.

He further said that maybe we could have added him as an additional player in the Indian team before the fourth ODI as the Deodhar final is on Saturday. He concluded saying that the players need to understand that there is a process that they follow while selecting the team.

Indian Team Squad for the final 3 ODIs include Virat Kohli as Captain, Rohit Sharma as Vice-Captain and MS Dhoni as Wicket-Keeper. Other players include Shikhar Dhawan, Ambati Rayudu, Rishabh Pant, Ravindra Jadeja, KL Rahul, and Manish Pandey.

Bowlers Department include Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Khaleel Ahmed and Umesh Yadav.



Like it? Share it!

Atin Jain

About the Author

Atin Jain
Joined: October 22nd, 2018
Articles Posted: 98

More by this author