Famous Nicknames of some Indian Cricketers

Posted by Atin Jain on December 10th, 2018

The bond between the Indian National Cricket Team players is great. Indian Cricket Team stay united and over the time it became a family. The men in blue shares a good bond and some nicknames too.

Indian opener Shikhar Dhawan is known as Jat and Gabbar. The nickname Jat or Jat Ji is attached to his character traits. Among the fans and teammates, nickname Gabbar is more popular.

Dhawan got the name Gabbar during his Ranji days when the opposite team had good
partnership going and he jokes on the field to boost team morale and say “Bohot yaarana lagta hai” just like Gabbar from Sholay. He is known as Gabbar in the dressing room too.

Ajinkya Rahane is known as Ajju and Jinx. His both the nickname came from his first name Ajinkya. The famous among the two is Jinx which is more noticeable. The name Jinx was given to him by Australian cricketer Shane Warne during IPL when they play for Rajasthan Royals.

Shane Warne was found it difficult to pronounce Ajinkya and so he gave him the nickname Jinx.Rahane’s family and friends call him Ajju.

Murali Vijay is known as The Monk because he never shared the reason with anyone for why he shave his head some time back. He has some personal reason why he shaved the head. Once in an interview too. He also resembles some quality of a Monk-like calm, balanced, good concentration on the field.

All-rounder Ravindra Jadeja is known as Jaddu and Sir Ravindra Jadeja. Jaddu is the short name if his surname while he got the name Sir Ravindra Jadeja from MS Dhoni just like that without any reason or logic.

Hardik Pandya is known as Hairy and Rockstar. He got the name Hairy because of his constant hairstyle changes. He is known for his flamboyant style. During IPL when he plays for Mumbai Indians, in the locker room his teammates mention to him as Rockstar which is again related to his attitude and style.

Once Hardik told that Suresh Raina calls him Neymar of the Indian team to which MS Dhoni too agreed. Suresh Raina is known as Sonu, Yuvraj Singh as Yuvi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar as Bhuvi and Ravichandran Aswhin is known as Ash.

To read more such interesting blogs and get all the update about cricket on https://www.cricadium.com/.

Like it? Share it!

Atin Jain

About the Author

Atin Jain
Joined: October 22nd, 2018
Articles Posted: 98

More by this author