Canada Immigration Categories

Posted by Richard Pierce on April 1st, 2019

Various programs are available for individuals seeking to immigrate to Canada. There are four main categories allowed for Canada Immigration:

  • Family class: The family class sponsorship is a program provided by Canada that enables adult permanent residents or citizens to sponsor a relative for immigration. To be eligible, the applicant seeking sponsorship must be:
  1. Spouse.
  2. Dependent Child.
  3. Parent.
  4. Grandparent.
  5. Sibling, nephew, niece, or grandchild under 18 years.


  • Economic class: Immigrants who wish to become permanent residents based on their skills and experience                come in this category. This class is for applicants with specific skills and experience that can meet Canada’s labor needs and help contribute to its economy. The classes are classified into:
  1. Federal Skilled Worker Program.
  2. Federal Skilled Trades Program.
  3. Quebec Skilled Workers.
  4. Provincial Nominee Program.
  5. Canadian Experience Class.
  • Refugees class:  Foreign national, who cannot get protection in their own often seek refuge in Canada. Convention refugees and Asylum Class individuals can also avail this category for immigration.


  • Humanitarian and Others: People who are not eligible normally to become a permanent resident of Canada can apply from this category. People with exceptional cases can apply for Humanitarian and compassionate class.


Eligibility Criterion: There are certain eligibility criteria which are required in order to attain Canada Immigration. Based on the application, a score is evaluated in which the individual will need to obtain a minimum score of 67 out of the total score of 100. Following are the list of credentials:

  • Age: Not more than 47 years. (Maximum 12 points)
  • Education: Depending on the candidate’s qualification. (Maximum 25 points)
  • Work Experience: Minimum of 12 months experience. (Maximum 21 points)
  • Language: Based on listening, writing, speaking and reading skills. (Maximum 24 points). These points are evaluated upon the International English Language Testing System (ILETS). The system requires a minimum score of 6 out of 10.

Various other criteria ranging from arranged employment and spouse to adaptability through which the applicant will be tallied a final score.


It is highly advisable to seek professional help from Canada Immigration Consultant which will guide you and ensure that the immigration process is carried out rightly. Canada being open to immigrants creates an increasing opportunity for the people migrating to the country. The ICCRC-CRCIC focuses on the goal to make Canada Immigration process competent with its new and improved policies.


For more information regarding Canada immigration and eligibility criteria in detail, get in touch with our Canada Immigration Consultant and Experts to get a FREE Counselling session. Call us at for 011-40391555 (CP) / 011-40040850 (NP) Toll Free: 18001218299or write to us at

Like it? Share it!

Richard Pierce

About the Author

Richard Pierce
Joined: December 21st, 2018
Articles Posted: 42

More by this author