Laureus World Sports Award for Sportsman of the Year

Posted by freemexy on May 13th, 2019

The Laureus World Sports Award for Sportsman of the Year is an annual award honouring the achievements of individual men from the world of sports. It was first awarded in 2000 as one of the seven constituent awards presented during the Laureus World Sports Awards.The awards are presented by the Laureus Sport for Good Foundation, a global organisation involved in more than 150 charity projects supporting 500,000 young people.The first ceremony was held on 25 May 2000 in Monte Carlo, at which Nelson Mandela gave the keynote speech.As of 2018, a shortlist of six nominees for the award comes from a panel composed of the “world’s leading sports editors, writers and broadcasters”.[1] The Laureus World Sports Academy then selects the winner who is presented with a Laureus statuette, created by Cartier, at the annual awards ceremony held in various locations around the world.The awards are considered highly prestigious and are frequently referred to as the sporting equivalent of “Oscars”.To get more sportsman of the year, you can visit shine news official website.

The inaugural winner of the award was the American golfer Tiger Woods who finished the 1999 season with eight wins, a feat not achieved since 1974, including the PGA Championship.He went on to become the most dominant player of his era,[12] earning a second Laureus Award the following year, and five further nominations between 2002 and 2008. The 2003 winner of the Laureus World Sports Award for Sportsman of the Year was the American road cyclist Lance Armstrong. He had been nominated the previous year, and earned further nominations in 2004, 2005 and 2006. Following Armstrong’s 2013 admission of doping,[13] all his Laureus awards and nominations were rescinded.[14] Tennis players dominate the winners list, with ten awards, while athletes have won four times, Formula One drivers three times, and golfers twice. Excluding Armstrong, the Laureus World Sports Award for Sportsman of the Year has been won by just seven individuals since its inception. The Swiss tennis player Roger Federer now has the most wins with five.[15] The 2019 winner of the Laureus Sports Award for Sportsman of the Year was the Serbian tennis player Novak Djokovic.

Link To Directory
Top Searches - Trending Searches - New Articles - Top Articles - Trending Articles - Featured Articles - Top Members

Copyright 2020
705,096 total articles and counting.