Enhance Your Independent Skills with NDIS Capacity Building

Posted by The Nextt Group on September 24th, 2019

There are three ‘support’ categories within the NDIS. These are core, capital and capacity building.

The motive of Capacity Building supports is to help build your skills and independence. This might be through various kinds of therapies such as occupational therapy, speech therapy or behavioural therapy, it can be to get assistance with finding and applying for work or it could incorporate support to develop social skills or self management skills.

The purpose of capacity building is to show members that with proper planning, execution and support, they can achieve something that they set their focus on. NDIS Capacity Building programs need the advancement of critical thinking abilities. They embrace a problem-based strategy that recognizes individuals as long lasting learners, who will always learn new aptitudes as they experience new difficulties.

There are nine support categories and each one will assist you towards reaching the goals set out in your National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS) plan:

Capacity building supports have nine subcategories:

  • Support Coordination - help to reinforce participant’s capacity to connect with informal, mainstream and funded supports, and to expand capacity to navigate NDIA processes and resolve issues with NDIS services. This is a fixed amount to pay for a Support Coordinator to help use your plan. It isn't equivalent to a plan manager.
  • Improved Living Arrangements - support to enable the participant obtain or retain a place to live. This may incorporate, help to apply for a rental tenancy or undertaking obligations under the participant’s occupancy agreement.
  • Enhanced Social and Community Participation - participation in skills-based learning to develop independence in accessing community such as classes, coaching, mentoring or peer support.
  • Getting and Keeping a Job – workplace support to effectively obtain or retain employment, such as employment related assessment and counselling, or School Leaver Employment Supports (SLES).
  • Improved Relationships - specialised evaluation where the participant may have complex or unclear needs or need long term or intensive supports to address behaviours of concern.
  • Improved Health and Wellbeing - exercises to help and maintain well-being such as exercise, exercise physiology and health diets.
  • Improved Learning - arrangement of skills training, advice, or orientation to help in further education.
  • Enhanced Life Choices – reinforcing the participant’s ability to embrace tasks related with the management of their supports, such as financial skills, organisational skills, and improving the participant’s ability to direct their supports and develop self-management capabilities. Plan management to help manage the plan, funding and paying for services.
  • Improved Daily Living Skills – quality training to develop or improve skills for independence and community participation, such as therapy services.

It relies upon the goals in your plan what categories you get funding for. Within the category you can choose what services you want to spend your money on and alter if required. However you can’t move funding from one category to another. This is because each category is aligned with a specific goal in your plan.

Like it? Share it!

The Nextt Group

About the Author

The Nextt Group
Joined: September 24th, 2019
Articles Posted: 10

More by this author