The Four Common Software Testing Levels that Everyone Needs to Know

Posted by pmohana703 on February 14th, 2020

Software Testing plays a major role in the successful software implementation process. Many enterprise projects are failed because it is not meet the objectives that lead to major effects on the CRM, Accounting, ERP of the organizations. Software Testing to be done whether manually or with some automation tools such as Appium, Selenium, API, ETL, Load Runner, QTP, and JMeter to point out the errors and defects which are made during the development process and to debug them before deployment.

Few benefits of implementing the Software Testing

The implementation of software testing brings the following advantages to the organization for the proper software development workflow:

l It ensures that the declared functions and specifications have been implemented properly

l It assures the quality of the final project/product

l It makes sure the codes have no errors

l It validates the project is easy to use and does not mislead the user

l It confirms the adaptability and operability of the application that can run anywhere

Different Levels of Software Testing

There are four levels of software testing such as Unit Testing, Integration Testing, System Testing, and Acceptance Testing which can be done in any project or application to ensure its quality that falls under two fundamental methods such as Black Box Testing and White Box Testing. In Block Box Testing, the internal structure or design or implementation of the application is not known to the testers whereas, in White Box Testing, the internal design or structure or implementation of the application is known to the tester. 

Unit Testing

Unit Testing also is known as Component Testing focuses on to verify the functional correctness of standalone modules. The application segregated into the smallest testable parts to perform the test methods and show every individual component are perfect and fulfill the requirements as per the expected functionalities. There are some frameworks to automate the testing task that vary for programming languages. 

l NUnit is the framework written in C# to support all .Net applications. 

l JUnit and TestNG for Java, 

l Embunit for C, C++, and 

l HtmlUnit for JavaScript. 

Unit Testing will be performed at the first or early stage of developing the software to minimize the development risk. 

Integration Testing

Integration Testing is done after the Unit Testing by combining two or more unit tested modules to implement the integration test that verifies the integrated modules are working fine as expected. It focuses on exposing the faults during the interaction of integrating units of the application. Integration Testing can be done with four types such as Big-Bang, Bottom-Up, Top-Down, and Mixed Integration Testing. 

l Big-Bang Approach implies the testing of all the modules of the application put together and tested in one shot. It can give positive results only for a small application. If any bugs found in integrated testing, it is difficult to localize and cost more for fixing them.

l The Bottom-Up Approach involves the testing process of lower-level modules with the higher-level modules until all the modules are tested using some test drivers which means the temporary replacement of the actual modules.

l Top-Down Approach means that the integration testing will be done from higher-level modules to lower-level modules and finally integrated with the lower level modules to the higher-level modules to verify the whole application is working fine.

l Mixed Integration Testing incorporates the combination of both bottom-up and top-down integration approach. This is also known as sandwiched integration testing that overcomes all the shortcomings of both approaches.

System Testing

System Testing involves the process of testing the entire components of the application or software to ensure the overall product or product meets the expected requirements. It focuses on the validation of end-to-end system specifications. It is performed with the major steps such as testing the environment setup, creating test cases, creating the test data, executing the test cases, defecting the reports, testing the regressions, defecting the logs, and finally retest the whole application. There are four types of System Testing can be done as follows:

l Performance Testing: It carries out the testing of system speed, scalability, reliability, and stability of the software application

l Load Testing: It carries out the determining of the behavior of the application on input overloads.

l Stress Testing: It carries out to check the robust and strength of the application with the various loads

l Scalability Testing: It carries out to test the performance and capability of the application to scale up or scale down as per the number of user requests.

Acceptance Testing

Acceptance Testing is involved in the testing of the application or product has given the green light or not. It focuses on ensuring the quality of the product that all the requirements are meet out and ready for deployment. Acceptance Testing will be done with the steps such as planning the test, design the test cases, choosing the testers, executing the test cases, documenting the test cases, fixing the bugs, and prepare for the product launch. This acceptance testing is used to detect the defects, find out the quality of the developed product, whether the product meets the user needs, eliminates the issues raised when deploying. Types of Acceptance Testing are as follows:

l User Acceptance Test: To determine the product is working correctly for the user.

l Business Acceptance Test: To determine the product meets the business goals and purposes

l Contract Acceptance Test: To determine the contract terms are fulfilled as per the Service Level Agreement (SLA) to ensure the payment only after the quality product delivered.

l Regulations Acceptance Testing: To determine the product violates any rules and regulations of the government where the product is launched.

l Operational Acceptance Testing: To determine the testing of recovery, compatibility, reliability, and maintainability of the product that ensures the readiness.

l Alpha Testing: This testing will be done by the specialized testers in the development process itself which is optional for the application.

l Beta Testing: It is the level of testing that is verified by the end-user who asses the product before deployment and give feedback if any bugs to be fixed or enhancing the product with much more improvements.


Software Testing is done to ensure the quality product before the deployment. It is done with the above methods for small and large applications according to its requirements. If the product comes back to the development process after its delivery, it interrupts other project workflows for sure. Therewith, Testing is always worth the effort to avoid unnecessary issues after the delivery of the product. It has a wide range of opportunities for certified and skilled testing professionals for global companies. Learn the Software Testing Training in Chennai with the required tools and testing at SLA Jobs and discover the great opportunities ahead of you in the IT industry.

Link To Directory
Top Searches - Trending Searches - New Articles - Top Articles - Trending Articles - Featured Articles - Top Members

Copyright 2020
711,079 total articles and counting.