Frasier (Season 2) DVD Review

Posted by Nick Niesen on October 27th, 2010

Much like the shows Seinfeld and Friends, Frasier, the Kelsey Grammer Cheers spin-off, dominated the NBC prime time TV lineup throughout the 1990s. Grammer stars in the title role of Dr. Frasier Crane who, recently divorced, moves back to his home city of Seattle, Washington. Landing a gig as a radio psychiatrist, Frasier reluctantly agrees to let his father Marty (John Mahoney), a Seattle cop recently shot in an attempted robbery, move into his new bachelor pad. Both Frasier and his younger brother Niles (David Hyde Pierce) make a concerted effort to mend the relationship with their estranged father whose beer guzzling friends, plaid shirt wardrobe, and weathered recliner strike a dramatic contrast with the boys and their pretentious social circles. Daphne Moon (Jane Leeves) acts as Frasier?s live-in housekeeper and Marty?s personal physical therapist.

The Frasier (Season 2) DVD offers a number of hilarious episodes including episode #40 where Sam Malone (Ted Danson) visits Frasier in Seattle. Sam fills Frasier in on what the various members of the Cheers gang are now up to. In the next to last episode of the season, Frasier and Niles (against Martin?s advice) purchase a restaurant they enjoyed during their youth and rename it ?Les Freres Heureux? or ?The Happy Brothers?. The two inevitably run the operation into the ground (on opening night, nonetheless)?

Below is a list of episodes included on the Frasier (Season 2) DVD:

Episode 25 (Slow Tango in South Seattle) Air Date: 09-20-1994
Episode 26 (The Unkindest Cut of All) Air Date: 09-27-1994
Episode 27 (The Matchmaker) Air Date: 10-04-1994
Episode 28 (Flour Child) Air Date: 10-11-1994
Episode 29 (Duke?s, We Hardly Knew You) Air Date: 10-18-1994
Episode 30 (The Botched Language of Cranes) Air Date: 11-01-1994
Episode 31 (The Candidate) Air Date: 11-08-1994
Episode 32 (Adventures in Paradise: Part 1) Air Date: 11-15-1994
Episode 33 (Adventures in Paradise: Part 2) Air Date: 11-22-1994
Episode 34 (Burying a Grudge) Air Date: 11-29-1994
Episode 35 (Seat of Power) Air Date: 12-13-1994
Episode 36 (Roz in the Doghouse) Air Date: 01-03-1995
Episode 37 (Retirement is Murder) Air Date: 01-10-1995
Episode 38 (Fool Me Once, Shame on You, Fool Me Twice?) Air Date: 02-07-1995
Episode 39 (You Scratch My Book?) Air Date: 02-14-1995
Episode 40 (The Show Where Sam Shows Up) Air Date: 02-21-1995
Episode 41 (Daphne?s Room) Air Date: 02-28-1995
Episode 42 (The Club) Air Date: 03-21-1995
Episode 43 (Someone to Watch Over Me) Air Date: 03-28-1995
Episode 44 (Breaking the Ice) Air Date: 04-18-1995
Episode 45 (An Affair to Forget) Air Date: 05-02-1995
Episode 46 (Agents in America, Part III) Air Date: 05-09-1995
Episode 47 (The Innkeepers) Air Date: 05-16-1995
Episode 48 (Dark Victory) Air Date: 05-23-1995

Like it? Share it!

Nick Niesen

About the Author

Nick Niesen
Joined: April 29th, 2015
Articles Posted: 33,847

More by this author