National Talent Search Examination ? A view about the exam

Posted by motachashma on July 18th, 2016

National Talent Search Examination is one of the biggest and the oldest scholarship programmes in India contributing in searching of talent in the whole country. NTSE Scholarship programme is conducted since 1964 by National Council of Educational Research and Training NCERT) which is an organisation setup by Government of India.

National Talent Search Examination is one of the toughest scholarships for the students of class 11 onwards for the students pursuing their higher studies in Science and Social science courses. NTSE Scholarship Exam is conducted in two stages which makes it tougher. Likewise rewards of scholarships are capable to compensate the hardwork of the students as Rs 1250 is awarded monthly to the students of class 10, 11 and 12 & Rs 2000 monthly is awarded to the students in Undergraduate and Post Graduate Courses. Examination conducted for the NTSE Scholarship consists of Mental Ability Test (MAT) and Scholastic Ability Test (SAT) which are multiple choice questioning exams.

Main purpose of the conducting body NTSE is to search for the students with high intellectual abilities and who are very good in academics as well. Financial aid is to be given to such students so as to promote their talent and boosting up their talents. Started with 350 students all over India in 1964 to more than 3 Lakhs students in 2014 have appeared in the Scholarships programme. Top 2000 students from all over the country are eligible to claim the rewards of the scholarship which are shortlisted on the scores they have obtained in Stage 1 and Stage 2 exams.

Students appearing in the National Talent Eligibility Search examination are divided in to the basis of their reservation. Out of 2000 scholarships distributed in all over the country 1500 are reserved for the candidates of General category, 300 scholarships are reserved for SC candidates, 160 are reserved for ST category and 40 scholarships are reserved for the physically disabled students. It is provided to the selected candidates only who have cleared their Stage 1 and Stage 2 examinations.

Stage 1 of examination covers the syllabus of class 9th and 10th whereas Stage 2 Examinations covers the syllabus of class 9th and 10th along with Mental Ability Test and language test of 50 marks each followed by Scholastic Ability Test of 100 marks covering the syllabus of class 9th  10th . If students answer correctly +1 mark will be awarded to him/her and in case of wrong answer 1/3Mark will be deducted.  Students must note that the language test is conducted only for the qualifying purpose only it is tot calculated while preparing the merit list.

Scholarships will be awarded immediately after the result declarations of both Stage 1 and Stage 2 examinations. Students selected for the scholarship program will have to continue their career in the field of Science and social Science only and he/she will not be allowed for any other scholarship programme. NCERT have right to cancel he scholarship of the candidates in case of any flaw activity is noticed which is against the norms.

Like it? Share it!


About the Author

Joined: May 24th, 2016
Articles Posted: 14

More by this author